Secret

SONY DSC
I’m a 52 kilo, light boned weakling! Yet I can strain a fence as tight as it needs to be. Want to know my secret? Fence strainers. I love working with them – they make me feel strong! Without them, the barb wires would flap in the breeze and the cattle would be smiling at me from the wrong side of the fence. Now you know the secret to my strength!

“Tell me the secret of your great strength Samson, so I’ll know how to destroy you.” Delilah pretty well said as much. Why couldn’t Samson see what she was up to? After he’d given her three furfies and she tried each one, you’d think the penny would drop. Basically she was saying, “How can you say, ‘I love you’ when you haven’t given me the secret to kill you?” Her motives were as plain as the nose on your face, yet he still told her everything! She was paid handsomely for her betrayal. With his head shaved and his supernatural strength gone, Samson’s enemies gouged out his eyes and threw him in prison in shackles to grind grain like an animal (Judges 16). Samson’s love for Delilah addled his brain. He was blind long before he lost his eyes…

Standing in front of Jesus – ‘the Way, the Truth and the Life’, Pilate asked, “What is truth?” The truth was staring him in the face and yet he wouldn’t see it (John 18:38). ‘There are none so blind as those who will not see.’

Father, help me not to ignore what I know to be the truth because the end result of this kind of blindness may be far more than I want to pay. Give me courage to face truth. Amen

They perish because they refused to love the truth and so be saved.
2 Thessalonians 2:10b

Leave a Reply

