Don’t run away!

Picture1

Ever dream about running away? I did as a little girl – with my horse and cart, my dog, a lamp to guide us and not much more. With no destination in mind, wonderful adventures awaited us around every safe corner.  Now that I’m a grown woman, I still dream about running away! Away to the land of little care or responsibility, because it sometimes seems like I’m the only bunny carrying responsibility and it weighs a ton.

Proverbs 14:1 makes a statement equally applicable to men: A wise woman builds her house but a foolish woman tears hers down with her own hands. Look at your hands… Who’d have thought you had such power. Power to build your house… or to tear it down. When it seems like it’s all too much, see your responsible choices as building your house (your life, your family, your community). With your own hands you are sowing a harvest in your life. Ditching responsibilities is sowing a famine. It’s up to us whether today’s choices will be a good investment for tomorrow or a bad one. As much as I might want to run away, sadly, the Easter Bunny isn’t going to take care of my responsibilities. That leaves me responsible to apply the Holy Spirit’s provision to my life. Wise choices are an investment that God delights to multiply into a good harvest in my own future and in the lives of those I care about.

Lord Jesus, I choose to sow a harvest in my life and the lives of those I influence. Strengthen me to do Your will so that mine will be a fruit bearing life that builds up, not one that I tear down with my own hands. For You. Amen.

One thought on “Don’t run away!

Leave a Reply

