Un-Sunk!

SONY DSC
This was our first big muster since the floods. Creek crossings were unrecognisable – blocked with debris piled to amazing heights. Rio (my horse) and I had to find new places to cross, and quickly. My mustering pal had cattle on the other side and needed help. Rejecting one spot after another, uppermost in mind was THE rule – only cross where cattle have crossed. Why? Because you know it’s gotta be safe. Third spot we looked at, there was the welcome sight – cattle tracks on either side of the creek. What I realized about five seconds into the water, was that cattle had been approaching from either side, but they weren’t going all the way through. A few steps in and Rio sank into an air pocket. It swallowed her up to her chest and my boots took in water and sand. Some thrashing and mighty leaps later, my lion-hearted horse and I were standing soaked and shaken on the other side. Wet and sandy, we joined up with the cattle.
And now I know why my mate warned me to only cross creeks where the cattle cross! He’d also had that experience and wanted to protect me from it. We all have the option of avoiding other people’s mistakes. Why fall into a pit if you can see clearly to avoid it? Lets learn wisdom from those who go before us.
I thought I’d made the right choice, but turns out I hadn’t. I’ve learnt from my own mistake: “Some of us learn from other people’s mistakes – the rest of us have to be other people!” God’s Word should be so built into our hearts and lives that we can act with faith and confidence, even after we have made a mistake. In Joshua 9:15, Joshua disobeyed God. Not long after, he was commanding a miracle (Joshua 10:1-14). Just because you make a mistake, doesn’t mean you are one!

“Now these things happened to them as an example, but they were written down for our instruction…”
1 Corinthians 10:11

Father thank You for Your Word that gives us the wisdom we need to avoid making big mistakes.
Thank You for Your grace and forgiveness when we get it wrong.
May we not be fools, but learn from our mistakes. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Un-Sunk!

Leave a Reply

