YADA

KodeyOn a scale of 1 to 10, I’d be a strong 2 for swimming. If I spent a few hours in the pool every day, I could maybe raise that to a mid-strength 4. Put me on a stock horse and I’m closer to an 8, still learning and loving it. I’ve decided to strengthen the 8’s in my life and not worry too much about the 2’s. Back in high school, dreams of being a Vet flitted through my mind, but I mistook school for a social club and didn’t make the grade. If I knew then what I do now, I would have applied myself and seen it happen. I’m never going to be a ‘Thorpedo’ in the pool and I’ve accepted that I missed the Vet opportunity. Even if I had accomplished those things, at the end of the day, as Paul says, everything, even good things, pale in comparison to the surpassing greatness of knowing Jesus.

“But whatever former things I had that might have been gains to me, I have come to consider as [one combined] loss for Christ’s sake. Yes, furthermore, I count everything as loss compared to the possession of the priceless privilege (the overwhelming preciousness, the surpassing worth, and supreme advantage) of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord and of progressively becoming more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him [of perceiving and recognizing and understanding Him more fully and clearly]. For His sake I have lost everything and consider it all to be mere rubbish (refuse, dregs), in order that I may win (gain) Christ (the Anointed One)…” Philippians 3:7-8 (Amplified Version)

Paul’s achievements were top shelf stuff for his day. But when he met Jesus, his talents and successes disappeared off his Richter scale. His priorities did a sharp U-turn and what he wanted most was to know Jesus.
“Know” in the Hebrew is “YADA”. It means: “intimate personal knowledge which arises between two people who are committed wholly to each other in a relationship that touches mind, emotion and will.” That is the overwhelmingly precious relationship you and I can have with Jesus.
That doesn’t mean I will settle for being your average Joe Blow. I’ll keep upping my 6’s to 8’s and let go of what I’m not (and never will be).

“For myself, losing is not coming second. It’s getting out of the water knowing you could have done better. For myself, I have won every race I’ve been in.” Ian Thorpe

Lord Jesus, help me to have this YADA relationship with You. No matter what accomplishments I can chalk up, knowing You is the number 1 priority in my life. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

